Thursday, 10 June 2010

16 countries to participate in CWG Rugby

16 countries have confirmed participation in the Commonwealth Games Rugby 7s tournament in New Delhi.

Samoa, reigning Commonwealth Games Rugby Sevens champions New Zealand, hosts India, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Kenya, Namibia, Uganda, England, Scotland, Wales, Australia, Papua New Guinea, Tonga , Canada and Guyana will participate in the tournament from Oct 11-12.

"We firmly believe that the Sevens tournament at the Commonwealth Games plays an important role in the ongoing development and promotion of rugby around the world, attracting some of the world’s top players, delivering exciting matches and attracting new fans thanks to the remarkable talent of all the international teams competing," said IRB president Bernard Lapasset.

"The Sevens tournament at the Commonwealth Games has always proven successful, achieving sell-out crowds, and this year we are particularly excited that the competition is being held in India where rugby is reaching out to new young audiences in a rapidly developing market for our sport. We are looking forward to what promises to be an exciting tournament."

Rugby Sevens was introduced to the Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur 1998.

The pools and tournament schedule will be announced in next few weeks.


Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails we are in

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blogarama - the blog directory Sports blogs blog directory Blog Directory Golden - Links Web Directory Blog Collector Free Website Directory

Blog Directory Blog Directory

Follow this site

Link exchange | Internet Marketing