Thursday, 5 August 2010

Canada's Athletics squad for Commonwealth Games

Athletics Canada announced a team of 40 athletes today which will compete at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India. Athletics competition at the Commonwealth Games starts October 6th and will wrap up on the 12th.

(Read: Commonwealth Games Athletics schedule)

"At the Commonwealth Games in Delhi we expect all athletes to perform at their highest level for this year", comments Head Coach Alex Gardiner. "We are using the Commonwealth Games as an important benchmark for those athletes pursuing selection for the London Olympic Games. Results in Delhi will have a direct bearing on who we provide additional support for in the next two years leading to 2012. All athletes will have to prove readiness in September before we go to India or risk de-selection."

Athletes are as follows:
100m: Jared Connaughton (New Haven, PEI), Sam Effah (Calgary, AB), Megan Muscat (St. Thomas, ON), Leah Robinson (Petersburg, ON)

100m Hurdles: Angela Whyte (Edmonton, AB)

1500m: Josh Cassidy (Guelph, ON), Jean-Paul Compaore (Sherbrooke, QC), Nicole Edwards (Winnipeg, MB), Taylor Milne (Guelph, ON), Diane Roy (Sherbrooke, QC), Hilary Stellingwerff (Sarnia, ON)

200m: Bryan Barnett (Edmonton, AB), Jared Connaughton (New Haven, PEI), Adrienne Power (Halifax, NS)

20km Racewalk: Evan Dunfee (Richmond, BC), Inaki Gomez (Vancouver, BC)

400m: Carline Muir (Edmonton, AB), Amonn Nelson (Calgary, AB)

4x100m: Bryan Barnett (Edmonton, AB), Jared Connaughton (New Haven, PEI), Sam Effah (Calgary, AB), Michael LeBlanc (Riverview, NB), Hank Palmer (Lasalle, QC), Oluseyi Smith (Ottawa, ON)

4x400m: Ruky Abdulai (Coquitlam, BC), Diane Cummins (Victoria, BC), Carline Muir (Edmonton, AB), Amonn Nelson (Calgary, AB), Adrienne Power (Halifax, NS), Vicki Tolton (Smithers, BC)

5000m: Megan Wright (Edmonton, AB)

800m: Diane Cummins (Victoria, BC)

Decathlon: Jamie Adjetey-Nelson (Windsor, ON)

Hammer Throw: Sultana Frizell (Perth, ON), Megann Rodhe (Kamloops, BC), Crystal Smith (Kamloops, BC)

Heptathlon: Jessica Zelinka (Calgary, AB)

High Jump: Jillian Drouin (Corunna, ON), Nicole Forrester (Aurora, ON), Michael Mason (Nanoose Bay, BC)

Long Jump: Ruky Abdulai (Coquitlam, BC), Tabia Charles (Pickering, ON), Alice Falaiye (Brampton, ON)

Pole Vault: Carly Dockendorf (Port Moody, BC), Gabriella Duclos-Lasnier (Quebec, QC), Kelsie Hendry (Saskatoon, SK), Jason Wurster (Toronto, ON)

Shot Put: Dylan Armstrong (Kamloops, BC), Kyle Pettey (Brampton, ON)

Triple Jump: Tabia Charles (Pickering, ON)


Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails we are in

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blogarama - the blog directory Sports blogs blog directory Blog Directory Golden - Links Web Directory Blog Collector Free Website Directory

Blog Directory Blog Directory

Follow this site

Link exchange | Internet Marketing