Tuesday, 24 August 2010

England announce final squad for Commonwealth Games swimming

England has named a full-strength squad for the swimming competition events, according to the official Commonwealth Games website. England had released a tentative list of swimmers for Commonwealth Games back in April.

Double Olympic Champion Rebecca Adlington will stand alongside World champions Liam Tancock, Gemma Spofforth and Keri-Anne Payne when they represent England at the Commonwealth Games 2010 Delhi as part of a 45-strong swimming squad that was finalised on Tuesday after last weekend’s final selection event.

The team, announced by Commonwealth Games England on Tuesday, will compete for Commonwealth honours against the likes of World No. 2 swimming nation Australia, the emerging might of Canada and a strong South African squad while rivalries with Scotland and Wales will be fierce.

Four years ago in Melbourne, England’s swimmers returned with 22 medals, finishing runner-up to Australia in the swimming medals table at the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games with eight gold, 11 silver and four bronze medals.

Accompanying England’s more established athletes is a crop of young talents that emerged at the final qualification event in Sunderland last week – the ASA National Championships. For the likes of Ryan Bennett, Anne Bochmann and Emma Saunders, the Commonwealth Games will provide the athletes with their first major international event.

Commonwealth Games England announced the first wave of swimmers to be selected for Delhi back in April after the British Swimming Championships – the first round of qualification. Following the ASA Championships last week a further 15 swimmers have been added at the final opportunity.

England swimming team:
Men: Robert Bale, Adam Brown, Simon Burnett, Ross Davenport, Daniel Fogg, James Goddard, Thomas Parris, Roberto Pavoni, Michael Rock,
Joseph Roebuck, Liam Tancock, Grant Turner, Chris Walker-Hebborn and Richard Webb, Steven Beckerleg, Ryan Bennett, Richard Charlesworth, Daniel Coombs, Anthony James and Daniel Sliwinski.

Women: Rebecca Adlington, Achieng Ajula-Bushell, Ellen Gandy, Francesca Halsall, Jo Jackson, Sasha Matthews, Keri-Anne Payne, Elizabeth Simmonds, Amy Smith, Gemma Spofforth, Jess Sylvester, Stacey Tadd, Becki Turner, Aimee Willmott and Katherine Wyld, Anne Bochmann, Jessica Dickons, Kate Haywood, Kate Hutchinson, Stephanie Proud and Emma Saunders.

Para Sport swimmers: Simon Miller, Robert Welbourn and Stephanie Millward.


Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails
indiae.in we are in Indiae.in

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blogarama - the blog directory Sports blogs blog directory Blog Directory Golden - Links Web Directory Blog Collector Free Website Directory

Blog Directory Blog Directory

Follow this site rantop.com

Link exchange | Internet Marketing