Friday, 20 August 2010

England accounce CWG women's hockey squad

Hoping to improve upon the bronze medal-winning performance fours years ago in Melbourne, England has named a 16-member women's hockey squad for the upcoming Delhi Commonwealth Games.

Women's hockey was introducd in 1998. England has two Commonwealth Games silver medals (1998 and 2002) and won a bronze in 2006 since hockey's introduction in the Games and the English eves will be hoping to make it four medals in a row.

Defenders Kate Walsh, captain four years ago, Helen Richardson, Chloe Rogers, Beth Storry and Alex Danson are the survivors in the team from the bronze medal winning side in Melbourne.

England, however, had to drop two players from its World Cup squad starting later this month in Rosario, Argentina.

England Hockey head coach Danny Kerry said, "This has been a tough selection demonstrating the growing depth of the squad. We need to follow up our bronze medal in the Champions' Trophy last month with a strong performance in the World Cup and then step up again for the Commonwealth Games. This squad has the quality to handle the challenge."

The English eves have been grouped alongside New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and Trinidad and Tobago in Pool B while Pool A consists of defending champions Australia, hosts India, Pakistan, Malaysia and Scotland.

England women's hockey squad: Ashleigh Ball, Charlotte Craddock, Christie Cullen, Alex Danson, Susie Gilbert, Hannah Macleod, Helen Richardson, Chloe Rogers, Natalie Seymour, Beth Storry, Georgina Twigg, Laura Unsworth, Kate Walsh, Sally Walton, Nicola White, Kerry Williams.


Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails we are in

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blogarama - the blog directory Sports blogs blog directory Blog Directory Golden - Links Web Directory Blog Collector Free Website Directory

Blog Directory Blog Directory

Follow this site

Link exchange | Internet Marketing