Monday, 9 August 2010

India announce Commonwealth Games Wrestling squad

The Indian wrestling team for the Oct 3-14 Commonwealth Games was announced on Monday. Olympic bronze medallist Sushil Kumar will spearhead India's challenge at the Commonwealth Games in October as the Wrestling Federation of India announced teams for both freestyle and Greco Roman events.

The wrestling competitions of the Commonwealth Games will be held Oct 5-10.

Team for Commonwealth Games:
Free Style: Anil Kumar (55kg), Yogeshwar Dutt (60), Sushil Kumar (66), Sumit (74), Anuj Kumar (84), Mausam Khatri (96), Rajiv Tomar (120).

Greco Roman Style: Rajender Kumar (55kg), Ravinder Singh (60), Sunil Kumar (66), Sanjay Kumar (74), Manoj Kumar (84), Anil Kumar (96), Dharmender Dalal (120)

Female wrestling team: Nirmala Devi (48 Kg), Babita Kumari (51), Geeta (55), Alka Tomar (59), Suman Kundu (63), Anita (67), Gursharanpreet Kaur (72)

Noticable omissions from the team are Ramesh Kumar and Narsingh Yadav.

World championship medallist Ramesh Kumar (74kg category) has been left out of the Commonwealth Games squad. Narsingh Yadav (74), who won the Commonwealth Championship in December and Asian Championship in May, has not found place in the Senior World Wrestling Championship squad that was also announced Monday.

Ramesh Kumar won a bronze in the world championship last year, though his performance this year has not been good.


Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails we are in

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory blogarama - the blog directory Sports blogs blog directory Blog Directory Golden - Links Web Directory Blog Collector Free Website Directory

Blog Directory Blog Directory

Follow this site

Link exchange | Internet Marketing